Day 5

This evening’s yoga class taught me that I’m not ready for too many forward bends or twists but that my body is able to do more than I thought!  I also found a spinal release and lengthening in handstand, which I haven’t done in quite a while.  The class was a fusion class, sans yoga mats, with many rapid movements following our breath.  I left it with a deep sense of calm and enjoyed my slow walk home.  As I told my husband about my day, emphasizing my good feelings and realizations in the past few days, he commented that I seem to be having a “hippy” week.  Call it whatever… I like it!

I started my morning with a ride to KM’s house so that we could take her dog out.  We walked and ran through Sutro Park and Land’s End, pausing as Birch marked his territory, commenting on the sheer beauty of our surroundings.  I was low on energy by the end of the run and had planned to bike across town to Rainbow, so I helped myself to a Lara bar, discovering too late that I’d grabbed my favorite flavor- pb&j (peanut butter is on the “no” list).  I thoroughly enjoyed it then took off on my ride.  At the end of the park, I detoured to Whole Foods instead.  They didn’t have everything I wanted but in consideration of afternoon practice time, it was an efficient shopping trip.  My favorite purchase was the organic watermelon (on sale and from Mexico- I’m not doing well with shopping locally this week!).  As a special treat, we juiced it, including the white part of the skin.  It was totally delicious and after being so extravagant as to eat soup AND juice tonight, I treated myself to a spoonful of almond butter with cacao nibs and agave nectar.  Yum!

breakfast- pineapple smoothy, lunch- chicken wings w/ brown rice & salad w/ sprouts, sauerkraut & pesto (yes, weird combo), dinner- cauliflower garlic soup, watermelon juice

Leave a comment